Categorized | Club, Featured, Men's Gymnastics, NCAA

Strong Class Highlights Early Signing Period for NCAA Men’s Gymnastics

Posted on 09 November 2016 by admin

Perhaps the strongest recruiting class in recent memory is about to cash in on scholarship offers from schools across the land.  The considerable wealth of talent being shared among many Division 1 programs is a welcome development and is great for parity.  Michigan is back in the game, signing Junior National Team members Cameron Bock, Jacob Moore, Canadian Junior National Team member Anthony Tawfik and Nick Guy.  The Wolverines, on paper, seemingly have the strongest recruiting class.  As was widely expected, Minnesota landed a big prize with 2016 JO Nationals/U.S. champion Shane Wiskus.  It was the biggest signing for the Gophers in over a decade.  Wiskus is a Minneapolis-area product who decided to stay in the area to hone his future Olympic aspirations.

Several schools were pitching Junior National Team member Andrew Bitner up until the end.  Bitner ended up opting for the west coast… Stanford.  Bitner will be joining Blake Sun and Bryan Perla on the Farm.  Defending national champions Oklahoma landed Davis Grooms and Alexei Vernyi.  Both gymnasts are on the National Team.  Nebraska also scored themselves a National Teamer with Griffin Kehler and also received a commitment from 2016 JO floor & vault champ Zach Peters and Canadian Junior National Team member Jonathan Scripnick.  Ohio State received a trio of commitments from Junior National Team member Max Andryushchenko, Tristan Lopez and Sean Neighbarger.  Iowa also received good news from Junior National Team member Bennet Huang, ’15-’16 Team member Addison Chung and Dominic Tommasone.

The list below is not complete and only reflects those who have publicly announced via social media.  We will continue to update our list as the announcements keep rolling in.  The early signing period starts today (Nov. 9) and will conclude on November 16.  Congratulations to all the gymnasts and the teams!

*** UPDATED 4/25 ***

Air Force – Allen Shadan, Brian Waschak, Brandon Bzoskie, Ethan Ezval, Frankie Valentin, Logan Omer, Zach Polen, Scott McMurray

Arizona StateKiwan Watts

Army – Joseph ‘Taka’ Giese, JT Fletcher, Joe Minus, Prakash Nigam, Matt Martin, Mitch McHugh, Kiernan Reagan

Cal – Shane Sadighi, Angel Haro, Joe Dixon, Ben Allins

Michigan – *Cameron Bock, *Jacob Moore, **Anthony Tawfik, Nick Guy

Minnesota – *Shane Wiskus, Russell Johnson, Colton Dee, Henry Meeker

Navy – Ryan McVay, Max Gerber

Nebraska – *Griffin Kehler, Zach Peters, **Jonathan Scripnick, Mitch Tyndall

Illinois – Joel Diaz, Max Diab, Cobey Pava

Iowa – *Bennet Huang, Addison Chung, Dominic Tommasone, Perry Lightfoot, Kulani Taylor

Ohio State – Tristan Lopez, Sean Neighbarger, *Max Andryushchenko, Josh Seltzer

Oklahoma – *Davis Grooms, *Alexei Vernyi, Gage Dyer

Penn State –  Parker Clayton, Brennan Pantazis, Alex Frack, Mike Pepe-Lage, Brandon Hopgood

Springfield – Collin Maberry

Stanford – *Andrew Bitner, Blake Sun, Bryan Perla, Trever DiGerolamo, Thomas Lee

UIC – Orion Wells, James Lawson

* Junior National Team   ** Canadian Junior National Team


Be Sociable, Share!

2 Comments For This Post

  1. Brad Maberry Says:

    Collin Maberry – (Bakersfield California) has committed to Springfield College, MA.

  2. Eric Says:

    Orion Wells from Oakland, CA and Head Over Heels Gymnastics in Emeryville, CA has committed to the University of Illinois Chicago.

    James Lawson from Tataru’s Gymnastics in Knoxville, TN has committed to Illinois Chicago as well.

Leave a Reply